Message from the President

Providing for Our Members – PFAWL Wants to See YOU Succeed!

“The day will come when men will recognize woman as his peer, not only at the fireside, but in councils of the nation.  Then, and not until then, will there be the perfect comradeship, the ideal union between the sexes that shall result in the highest development of the race.” ~ Susan B. Anthony

This year PFAWL has provided multiple opportunities for our members to earn CLE credit, give back to the community and to recognize the accomplishments of our members.  In September, we hosted guest speaker Jay Hebert for a professionalism CLE focused on the attorney-client privilege.  In November, we welcomed the Florida Bar President, William (Bill) Schifino, for a diversity CLE, and in March we will have a Cyber Security CLE which will provide credits for attendees toward the Bar’s new technology component for lawyers.  Our pro bono panel in January highlighted the need for dedicated attorneys to donate either their time or resources for those in our community who need it the most, and attendees also received CLE credit.  February was our annual Valentine’s for Veterans event where we collected donations for our troops overseas and heard from Cherilyn Hansen, a 2016 Equal Justice Works Fellow who works with Gulfcoast Legal Services and provides legal services to homeless and low income veterans.

We are also proud to showcase the accomplishments of our members, and we regularly nominate our eligible members for awards.  This year PFAWL had multiple members honored by the Florida Bar at a ceremony with the Florida Supreme Court for their pro bono service.  The Immigration Law Group of Florida, founded by Kathlyn Mackovjak and Adriana Dinis, received the 2017 Law Firm Commendation, Katherine Yanes received the President’s Pro Bono Service Award, and Jennifer Perez Edwards received the YLD Pro Bono Award.  Also an outstanding attorney, member Jewel White received the Claude Pepper Outstanding Government Lawyer Award.  There are still many opportunities to nominate our members for awards.  FAWL’s annual awards are on the horizon, as well as our own Sixth Circuit’s Pro Bono Awards.  Please do not hesitate to make nominations of qualified individuals, including yourself.  You can send your nominations to  We are always pleased to learn about our talented and accomplished members!

If you are not currently a PFAWL member, March is the best time to join!  New members who join after March 1st will receive four additional months of membership, including the 2017/2018 membership year which begins July 1st.  You will have access to CLEs from both FAWL and PFAWL, including our March Cyber Security CLE and the FAWL Mental Toughness workshops.  You can also receive discounts from FAWL sponsors, such as CLIO Legal Practice Management which provides a 10% lifetime discount to FAWL members.

If you would like to get to know us better, we have several events coming up after our March 7th Cyber Security CLE.  On April 11th we will be at the Safety Harbor Resort and Spa for our regular social and information from the Florida Bar Foundation.  May 2nd is our annual Membership Drive at Nouvelle Beauty Bar in St. Petersburg.  In addition, you can join PFAWL members at upcoming FAWL events, including FAWL’s annual Lobby Days event in Tallahassee April 3- 5.  FAWL also holds events, meetings and CLEs in conjunction with the Florida Bar meetings, including the FAWL Awards Gala during the June 21-24 Florida Bar Annual Meeting.

You can also receive regular announcements and updates from PFAWL by signing up for our Newsletter by clicking here.  We hope to see you soon!


Regina A. Kardash, Esq.

President 2016/2017

Presidential History

2016 – 2017 Regina Kardash

2015 – 2016 Marcelana Anthony

2014 – 2015 Jennifer Codding

2013 – 2014 Jennifer Codding

2012 – 2013 Kyleen A. Hinkle

2011 – 2012 Brittany Maxey

2010 – 2011 Robyn Featherston

2009 – 2010 Robyn Featherston

2008 – 2009 Robyn Featherston

2007 – 2008 Donna Rose

2006 – 2007 Donna Rose

2005 – 2006 Donna Rose

2004 – 2005 Susan Hartman

2003 – 2004 Susan Hartman

2002 – 2003 Elise Winters

2001 – 2002 Elise Winters

Leaders in the Law Recipients

2015-2016 Laura Jo Lieffers, Gentry Byrnes, Jenny Sieg

2014 – 2015 Joann Grages Burnett, Kira B. Doyle, Kathlyn M. Mackovjak

2013 – 2014 Meredith Gaunce, Jacqlyn Bryant, Erica Pless, Jennifer Codding

2012 – 2013 Marcelana Anthony, Irene Sullivan, Jessica Ehrlich, Regina Kardash

2011 – 2012 Kyleen Hinkle, Kristina Feher, Alexandra White

2010 – 2011 Brittany Maxey, Amy E. Cuykendall, Robyn Featherston

Chapter Awards

2015 – 2016 Membership Recruitment Award (Medium Chapter)

2015 – 2016 Outstanding Member Program Award (Paddleboarding CLE)

2011 – 2012 Outstanding Chapter Award (Co-Winner)

2010 – 2011 Membership Recruitment Award

Legal Association Website Design by